Mark Your Calendars and Check Your Payroll. Minnesota's New Minimum Wage Rates Go Into Effect August 1, 2015

Posted Jul 22, 2015

Minnesota employers should ensure that they are compliant with the new state minimum wage rates effective August 1, 2015. Beginning on that date, the Minnesota minimum wage rates will be as follows:

Large Employer (Any enterprise with an annual gross revenue of $500,000 or more): $9.00/hr
Small Employer (Any enterprise with an annual gross revenue of less than $500,000): $7.25/hr
90 Day Training Wage (under 20 years of age): $7.25/hr
Youth Wage (under 18 years of age): $7.25/hr

Where an employee is covered by both state and federal minimum wage laws, the employee is entitled to the higher wage.

Employers should use this change as an opportunity not only to ensure compliance with the minimum wage requirements, but also to evaluate their employee classifications (exempt vs. nonexempt), and other applicable state and federal employment laws. If you have any questions or concerns about the minimum wage increase, or would like to discuss ways to review and evaluate your current employment practices, please contact Kristy A. Saum, (612) 672-3795.

Messerli & Kramer’s experienced employment law attorneys are available to assist employers in navigating a variety of employment law issues and would be honored to help you.

This communication does not constitute legal advice or create an attorney-client relationship. Please consult an attorney if you have questions.

Learn More about Messerli Kramer’s Attorneys Kristy A. Fahland
Recent News

Corporate Transparency Act

Recent News

Five Messerli Kramer Attorneys Named to Best Lawyers® 2024 Edition

Recent News

Messerli Kramer Adds Another Top Litigator